Day 18 – A BL that broke your heart [NSFW]

From my previous doujin post, I guess you know I love love love angst-y stories that wrench my heart. However, the manga I chose for this topic really deserves the crown. Yamashita Tomoko is in my All-Star team, I am also, *ahem* stalking her Twitter account because her watercolor works are to die for. (Now that I checked it again, sensei’s Twitter is closed, whhyyy!! )

Screenshot from 2016-01-10 22:24:51.png

I didn’t even know if she had a pixiv account and she’s gone… uvuu

Anyways, I will talk about Stroboscope a little. This manga was published back in 2012 by Libre. Tomoko sensei is not solely a BL mangaka, has several other works in josei, shoujo,  shoujo-ai and seinen genre. Here are a couple of her works.

Stroboscope is a get together of different one-shots and it’s also the name of the first story and I am going to talk about that particular one. Overall, manga needs to be tagged with several trigger warnings but I will just write the tag related to the first story and warning’s not related to something sexual. It’s an amazing story thus I heartily recommend it. Warning kind of spoils the story so i’ll add it in white. Here we go.

g9o85e1451662048

Trigger warning : Past attempted suicide

This story takes place in a very small town, Kazu-san is a cafe owner here and he’s in his 40’s. One night while drinking, an acquaintance of his regular costumer says that he needs a place to stay and Kazu-san takes Ikeda Renji (26) as a lodger, in return, Renji helps Kazu-san in the shop. I’ll stop here because I don’t want to spoil it but this story broke my heart because it felt so real. It is very common in BL that the protagonist has very accepting friends or family. While this is a really nice idea that I’d like to see it come true, it is far from the reality we live in itself. These kind of stories always make me question my morals, what considered as normal in society and the way we exist together.

As I stated, the other stories are exceptionally good too and I think it wouldn’t disappoint you if you were to give it a shot.

(⁎ ✪͡ ◡͐✪͡ ⁎)ノ”


Header Image : Stroboscope cover, by Yamashita Tomoko.

Bir Cevap Yazın

