Day 24 – A BL THAT MADE YOU MAD [NSFW]

The award goes tooo : Kichiku Encount! This manga was unlucky because it was the first one popped up in my mind but there are surely a lot of other BL with the exact same setting.

Maybe my feelings cannot be considered as ‘being mad’, I was just sad how it turned out. The story is basically like this. One day Satou Hajime is going home from work, tired after pulling an all-nighter at the company. He suddenly hears his favorite Adult Video actress’ voice through someone’s headphones. The one who’s listening to it looks like a huge playboy, tall and good-looking. The man sees that Satou is hard, takes him to the public toilet and well, you know the rest. It’s the whole package; non-con sex gets normalized because ‘it’s love’, “You know, he has never been with someone after he met you.” and “He had so much meaningless sex, he wasn’t able to blahblah”tropes because obviously getting hurt in the past makes it okay for you to act like a douche bag.

I am not insinuating that it’s not realistic, it is of course, possible that due to a past trauma one can become closed or may have bonding/trusting issues. My intention is not to ridicule these feelings. The problem here lies with the representation of these characteristics and their effects on both parties. For example; I think rape is a ‘control issue’, it has anything to do with sex at all. Patriarchal male’s one method of punishment is to fuck the other party; it represents being in control, above the other and being able to do whatever he wants even though the other party does not consent. Thus, I think it has a realistic point when Chihiro (the playboy) tries to rape Satou later on in the story because Satou slips away from his hands. Not a pleasant topic, though it’s a harsh reality. I get this part, however the representation is wrong.

g9o85e1451662048

Trigger warning : rape

I’ll put the scene I am talking about so my point may be more clear.

I mean, I think I’d like to see more of an angry, confused or sad, overall a negative expression on Chihiro’s face rather than just a small realization panel and he needs to be punished by Satou because he did something wrong; instead he gets rewarded with ‘romantic sex’ because he was hurt… I really can stand that male ego, seriously. What do they expect, people to become buckets so that they can throw up every time they need to?

As I mentioned, Kichiku Encount by Owaru is just a mere example in the genre, this kind of story lines are pretty common in BL and I think I just roll my eyes and cringe my teeth when I see something along this line, rather than getting mad. Because in the end, I’d surely have anger management issues if I were to get mad every single time, hahah!

(⁎ ✪͡ ◡͐✪͡ ⁎)ノ”


Header Image : Kichiku Encount by Owaru.

Bir Cevap Yazın

